Fruit Danishes, a “how too” guide.

The weather recently has not been the spring sunshine that my heart has desired but I have used my time wisely, baking my little heart out. Fruit Danishes are my new go-too food, as they are packed with fruit and a perfect sized snack for an afternoon break. I thought I would share with you my “how too” guide for making these lovely semi-healthy treats (we all have to be naughty sometimes).


Homemade is not only healthier, but it is cheaper and this recipe should make at least 6, which you can freeze and use over time. I find that homemade treats are a perfect way to save money, instead of buying convenience food locally, which I was 100% guilty of.

Puff Pastry is a labour of love and very time consuming, so I am using the cheat method (pre-made puff pastry) to make it easier and more enjoyable, with a guaranteed perfect result.

Tip: You can use a drizzle of icing, once the pastries have cooled, for a nice finish. However I haven’t included this step within this method as I wanted it to be as quick and easy as possible.

You will need:

Non-Stick Baking Paper
1 Roll of Puff Pastry
1 Bag of Frozen Fruit of your choice
Milk (I used Full Fat but Semi-Skinned is just as good)
Granulated Sugar
Method:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to Gas Mark 6 and line two baking trays with Non-stick Baking Paper.
  2. Un-wrap the pre-made puff pastry and leave to sit on the side for 10 minutes at room temperature. This will make it easier to unroll and cut into squares.
  3. Cut the pastry into 6 even squares as I have found this to be a perfect portion size (however you can cut them larger or smaller). Place two squares onto one tray, evenly spaced, as the pastry will grow in size and you don’t want them merging together.
  4. Place two generous spoonfuls of Frozen Fruit (you can use fresh, I have experimented using both and they taste the same) onto the centre of each pastry square and sprinkle with 1-2 teaspoons of granulated sugar, depending on how sweet you would like your centres. Repeat this process on all 6 pastries.
  5. Fold the remaining pastry towards the centre, creating a picture-frame like boarder, with the fruity centre exposed. 
  6. Glaze the pastry with milk (you can also use an egg). I found milk makes the pastry taste a little sweeter. You can use a brush to do this, however I used a finger (make sure you wash your hands before doing this step). Again repeat this process on all 6 pastries. 
  7. Sprinkle the edges with some more sugar, but only enough to give a nice finish and not a tooth-ache.
  1. Place the tray on the middle shelf of the oven and cook until golden brown which is about 10-15 minutes worth of baking, but this may vary depending on the oven.
  2. Once you are happy with the colouring, remove from the oven and let them cool or you can put them in the fridge on a plate, to speed up the process. 
  3. Enjoy!

If you have any tips or ideas for me to try, I would love to hear from you. And if you get around to making any Fruit Danishes from my “how too” guide, I would love to see some pictures…

You can contact me on Instagram: Pipedream_ or on the comments below.
Happy baking!

Love,
Pipedream x

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

